Basic Product Design

blog

BLACKWhat I think about when designing.

Today I am going to talk about what I think makes a good product design and why. The goal is to design a visually pleasing object by working out the aesthetics. You can achieve a visually pleasing product if you focus on the measurements of your design, making sure you have not too little or too much of something, this goes for both colour and features. Keeping things simple is a great way to show off the beauty of a design, helping to show off the general shape. An important thing to remember is that negative space needs to be considered while designing a product, empty space plays just as much of a role in aesthetics as the objects that fill the space.

Keeping in mind all of the above, I created a speaker in 3D using Maxon Cinema 4D in a few hours. The image used is a raw render from Cinema 4D, I have yet to use Photoshop to enhance the colour and vibrance. As part of my ongoing project, I am creating a website to host images of my fictitious products. In the coming weeks I will be posting this type of work. Some products will be simple such as this speaker design, others will be more complicated or even completely out of this world.

