Legacies Carved In Bark

I was hiking through the mountains in the south of Wales when I came across two large trees that had the names and dates of people carved into them. The location of the trees were a long trek from civilisation and this got me wondering why somebody would want to leave their mark this way. I think given the opportunity, people want to show where they have been and what they have accomplished. These trees symbolise humanities desire to leave a legacy behind once they are gone so that future generations will remember them in some way. It’s interesting to think that a lot of these people did not live in a time that had internet and could never imagine that somebody would view this tree on a screen. If you have an interesting view on this image then I would be overjoyed to hear it.

